for Ha-Levi.

November 5, 2013 § 2 Comments

deny me my mikveh

Ha-Levi sees I wander in the face of your words

like rags have taken over my tongue

I have become your picture of me, and now you fear it

but still, pound my face into the cycle of the soil

 

someday the earth will open you up

wide as it did, before Your Lady Your Ghost of a Man

put their hands on the soil

and thundered upon it in the name of their control

 

when the earth opens you up

I will free my hair into daylight

and I will bathe in the waters of your end

and it will fill the corners of me

all the stains of history between hairs and worry lines

and I will bathe

 

you will still be many;

this is not a war of numbers but of sights

your children will see me bathe

naked in the chasm of what you think you are

or thought you were and are no more

 

and I will bathe

aware of two watchers

one sees me drown, one sees the woman born

emersed and then emerging

 

I do not bathe for watchers

I bathe to make a servant of the sunlight

on the mitzvah of my skin; I bathe both as a woman

and a child, ordered to become clean yet this time

 

understanding.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to for Ha-Levi.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading for Ha-Levi. at Animalizard.

meta

