Nuance: Margaret

January 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

thirteen minutes re-checking the check-in desk
i saw the lights switch on in your babyskull
god, and you had it made

too

it took me a night to get over the nightmare of you
and the bear, newborn
a whole night of nothing
that was it
and the ‘it’ of it all
drove me out

could I have handled your handle on it any better
there is no answer

i’m tired now, i’m putting ice on my ankle
i should have scraped the street for that glittering cold
yet it’s ready-made, this
packed winter
packs the pain off home, wherever
that might or may
be

i can distract the seahorses
i can woo the water in my dream
but i can’t prevent you from offering me chewing gum
and pity
and time alone with my chalk-white family of headstones
i can’t have anything i don’t need

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nuance: Margaret at Animalizard.

meta

