Strange Fruit

December 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

Ever heard that Billie Holiday song? No? Make it your morningful.

My body has a strange fruit too. It’s blood and poetry (oh ovary), and sometimes bloody poetry.

And when I’m dramatic like that, I like to write it up:

I have 1,624,323,135 seconds left to live.
That’s 6,024,017 tea-drinking sessions.
And 617 periods left to have. No, wait, I forgot the menopause.

Well, it’s a while.
But not so long a while.

And if you’re here, it’s because I want you here. I wouldn’t waste one of those 1,624,323,135 seconds on anyone bad/sad/mad. Maybe sad. It would have to be ‘worth it.’

You see, it’s not so long a while. So I shall stay here a while.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Strange Fruit at Animalizard.

meta

